I caught up with an acquittance on Friday evening at our local wine bar where we shared a glass of wine and caught up on all manner of things. She has hit the dating scene in a big way and I was fascinated by how she is getting on. In her opinion she has gone from zero man to being spoilt for choice and this seemed to be causing her a degree of stress! So much choice!

During the course of the evening the issue of Social media came up, specifically that how to use socia media  to the best advantage. I asked her if she had connected with a South African lady I had introduced her to on Twitter. I told her that the person I had introduced her to would benefit from her experience of educating her children at home.

This took the discussion to my own family that resides in South Africa which raised an interesting question for my acquitance. How did some of your family end up in South Africa whilst some are in Uganda?

Well, this stopped me in my tracks! I had to think  for a moment or two, should I tell the real reason or should I give her the diplomatic answer. I opted for the truth!

Do you remember when you had APARTHEID in South Africa? I asked her and she nodded, well during that time Uganda had the best medical school in East Africa so most students who qualified from it got jobs in the South African townships as the whites did not want to or could not treat blacks. Other professionals such college professors and tutors got in too. This has meant that I have family and friends in South Africa.

I had never been in this position before, discussing APARTHEID with a white South African, and wasn’t sure how my acquittance would react. She responded by nodding her head and telling me about her Welsh mother and we moved on to another conversation. I told her about my experience of growing with Uganda Asians and Idi Amin!

The unintended consequence of this system of exclusion/segregation was what has come to be known as BRAIN DRAIN amongst other things from Sub Saharan countries. But I understand that this is on the reverse as Africa appears to offer economic prospects to those that are able to take them up.

Whilst thinking about this form of exclusion I happened upon a BBC Radio 4 programme in which the Rev, Jesse Jackson talked about the impact of segregation on the generation of African Americans.

The question on my mind is what drives us humans to behave this way and whether we have seen the end of the worst form of exclusion?

