Voluntary Work was the subject of at least two BBC radio 4 programmes yesterday.  The first YOU and YOURS a consumer programme considered all manner of issues relating to voluntary work including Corporate Social Responsibility or CSR, the other PM considered the issue of Internship/Interns.

Interesting these days it si not enough to want to volunteer, you have to  have  an enhanced CRB, not quite sure what that stand for, but in lay mans’ lingo, it is a Police check to ensure that you do not have criminal records and will not pose a danger to children, and vulnerable adults!

Corporate Social Responsibility has become increasingly a vital part of many companies activities  with most companies “wanting to be seen to being doing their bit for the community” and folk in the developing nations have in part benefited form this  too, but interestingly some companies “contract their CSR out” and this doesn’t make much sense to me but hey who am I to argue with them?

It was interesting to note that whilst some Interns find this a valuable experience and indeed some have gone on to great jobs as a result if not planned properly it may well turn into a disappointment. An MP that was interviewed for the programme suggested that Interns should be paid as they do great work and without them some politicians, media groups would not function without them and to make matters worse prospective employers expect job applicants to have done  some kind of Internship. The hard/moral question that was posed was whether young people from poorer families could participate in the  Internship programmes without any pay for a whole year.

Although I have previously written about my own experiences as a volunteer, yesterdays programmes got me thinking about the numbers of times most of  us volunteer our time (especially) without being aware of it!

In my line of work for instance I get called on to speak my work or my experiences to an interested audience and often this is unpaid. I must admit hat following past experiences I do weigh up what I have to gain and if it doesn’t add up the I iwll not  give my time.

As dear old Jim Rohn says, you have to make people deserve your time
What really constitutes volunteering, If you go out to Africa for what ever period of time, are you on an extended holiday or are you volunteering?

Are you are volunteer? What are your experiences as a volunteer or as an intern?

How generous are you with your time and money?

